PDA

View Full Version : Do most people here move up in limits whenever they can?

Sooga
12-30-2003, 07:55 PM
I've been playing online poker for about 2 years now, and I've made a good amount of money doing so. In fact, my friends ask me why I don't try playing higher limits, since I've won enough to be properly bankrolled for a 10/20 online game, should I choose to start playing in them. But you know what, I really don't want to.

My friends that play poker are always looking to win big so they can move on up to the next limit and keep moving on up, but I don't see the big attraction. Is it the money? The challenge? I could probably make more per hour playing in a 10/20 online game, but obviously my variances will go through the roof, and I really don't like that. Poker is just a part-time job, and I have a regular income, but losing thousands of dollars at a bad night in a higher limit game is something I don't think I'd be able to take mentally. Basically what it comes down to is I'd rather not lose $1000 in a game than win $1000. Playing in my lower limit tables is very low stress, and there are a lot more truly awful players there, so I can still win a decent enough amount to make it worth my while, so I think I'll just stick around.

Do a lot of you share my mentality? Or are most of you just looking to make a big score and keep moving up?

J.R.
12-30-2003, 08:04 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Basically what it comes down to is I'd rather not lose $1000 in a game than win $1000. Playing in my lower limit tables it's very low stress, and there are a lot more truly awful players there, so I can still win a decent enough amount to make it worth my while, so I think I'll just stick around.

[/ QUOTE ]