PDA

View Full Version : An idea for a book.

Goodie
12-30-2003, 01:50 PM
I have been playing poker for about four years and in my off time working (although not as much as I should) on writing a book not related to poker. Now I have decided to combine my two passions and write a book about poker.

I have a tremendous interest and passion for the game we play and I thought of an idea for a book that I don't think has been done before. I'm not a professional but have won quite a bit over the last four years playing this game. I have a regular job and play whenever I can. I believe I am a good representation of the average player (and the vast majority of players). When I read about poker (which is probably more than I should while at work), my favorite articles and posts are those that follow a player through a tournament and get an idea of how they were feeling and why they played this hand against that player.

I'd like to write a book about my exploits at low limit tournaments that follows me for a year that's both instructional and interesting. I also think that this type of book would relate well to the average player. I think that there are very different stradegies that go into a small buy in tourney than the World Series and I don't think there is a definitive work on this subject as of yet (correct me if I'm wrong about this).

My question is, does this sound like a good idea for a poker book? And no stealing my idea if it is.

Thanks for any responses. I'm writing the book regardless but I'd like some feedback first.

Peace

Goodie

Zeno
12-30-2003, 02:27 PM
I think you need to ask yourself some important questions.

Are you anticipating writing the book strictly for monetary gain or for other reasons?

Do you have experience in writing – for example, at work, or writing reports, essays or other types of writing?

Are you ready for the pain and hard work of putting together a book?

Do you keep copious notes of your poker playing?

Do you love to write?