PDA

View Full Version : My friends and family see poker as a taboo.

Lawrence Ng
12-29-2003, 06:21 PM
I have been playing winning poker for well over 7 years now. This is the one pastime I truly enjoy and I have spent thousands of hours playing in cardrooms and online.

My family and friends do not see my poker playing as a form of recreation and entertainment. They see it purely as gambling and as a form of evil that can consume man.

I guess I don't blame them for thinking this way, because that is how I use to think before I started playing. Then I started studying the literature behind poker. In my 2nd year of university I did an intensive course on Intermediate Statistics and Game Theory which dealt a lot with probabilities and econometrics. So slowly I started understanding how positve EV can work and became more and more educated on how to play and understand the nature of the game.

My parents however have been very disgruntled to this day on accepting and respecting the fact that I have made this a pastime of mine. It is not my "job." I have a full time job that is my main source of income and poker is only supplemental income to which I use to save up and build a bigger bankroll and move on to higher limit games.

My parents refuse to listen to me when I explains the merits of the game to them. They are very conservative and they have seen some of their own relatives lose the dog and farm from compulsive gambling disorders. It's as if they will only focus on the negative but not the positive to this game. I have tried many many times to reason with them, but most of the time it will end up in a very big argument and then everyone winds up frustrated. 3 years ago I had to move out because my father would not sleep till I came home from the cardroom which was usually 3 or 4 in the morning. The next day he would lecture and yell at me. This carried on for well over 6 months.