PDA

View Full Version : Poker Players - The rich man's statisticians? Career Change

webiggy
12-26-2003, 06:13 PM
Hi all,

I PM'd Mason on this, but since I got no response I thought I'd put this on this forum. I am a CPA and am inspired by Moneymaker's victory that I have taken a very serious approach to learning poker with the lofty goal of "mastering" the game.

I believe in the theory that luck favors the prepared mind. To that end, I'm wondering how many of you are statisticians and have seriously applied your training to the art of poker. Further, does anybody know if an advanced degree progam exists for aspiring "gamblers" like myself. My library already includes TOP, HEFAP, WLLHE, and Sklansky's original seminal work. I also have Mason's gambling theory on my list along with Super/System. What I really want to do is to study and master the application of mathematics, statistics and probabilty as they relate to the game. If I can get a degree in it, all the better.

Anybody with suggestions?

See you at the tables.

Iggy

webiggy
12-27-2003, 06:13 PM
Okay!

Since no one has responded I can only conclude one of three (if not all) of the following:

1 - Nobody responded because what I'm asking doesn't exist and since no one knows, no one can offer advice.

2 - This is privledged information that is a matter of national security and that I would have to be disposed of should I acquire this information.

3 - This is quite possibly the lamest post ever and that I should be bannished to "Pokah" forever for writing this innane dribble.

Your responses appreciated.

Iggy

Wake up CALL
12-27-2003, 09:03 PM
3 - This is quite possibly the lamest post ever and that I should be bannished to "Pokah" forever for writing this innane dribble.

webiggy
12-27-2003, 09:21 PM
Thanks for your brutal honesty /images/graemlins/wink.gif

Wake up CALL
12-27-2003, 09:37 PM