PDA

View Full Version : Sophomore Poker - Week 0

jasonHoldEm
12-24-2003, 11:18 PM
I started playing poker a little over a year ago. I’m not sure exactly what drew me to poker in the first place, probably a combination of boredom and curiosity mixed with easy internet access.

My first year had a number of ups and downs but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. After I found the 2+2 forums I really started to get more serious about the game and even got to play “professionally” for a few months in the process. In the end, I made a number of discoveries my first year, but I know that I still have much to learn.

Lately I’ve been thinking about poker quite a bit. Have you ever stopped to really think about why you play? For me it’s not the money, but the challenge of the game that drives me. Don’t get me wrong, the money is nice, but what I really enjoy is that poker is a difficult game to play well. It’s that simple truth that allows a skilled player to turn a profit in the long run.

I mentioned earlier that I got to play “professional poker” my first year as a player. I use the quotes because looking back I realize that I wasn’t playing professional poker at all; instead I was merely playing poker tightly. When I was playing that style the game lost much of its appeal because it wasn’t a challenge anymore. Quite frankly, anyone with half a brain and a modicum of self-control can grind it out at the low limits online. Just because you can grind the low limits successfully doesn’t make you a good poker player.

I have always had a very strong desire to become a good poker player, and as I enter my sophomore year of poker I am going to start a project to that end. I’ve put quite a bit of thought into my project and I believe I’ve created something that will balance my quest for improvement with realistic goals. I want the project to push me, but at a pace I’m comfortable with...I don’t want to risk burnout or going broke.