PDA

View Full Version : Pre-flop: Playing Lee Jones "By the Book"

Warik
12-22-2003, 11:11 AM
What are your experiences and/or opinions on playing the preflop exactly as dictated in Lee Jones's "Winning Low Limit Hold'em?"

I pretty much agree with almost everything he says about playing EP and MP, but the LP is far different than what I'm used to, even when I was a pre-2+2 newb.

He says it's OK to keep stuff like King-anything suited, 56s, T9o, etc... in late position with no raises in front of you. I'm like: "whoa! 56s? T9o?" but then last night I played T9o and hit my open-ended straight draw on the river and won a $14 pot... but would that hold up in the long run?

According to pokerroom.com's EV stats page, T9o is a longrun loser, but according to WLLH, it's a go.

Your thoughts? (on T9o and everything else)

Thanks.

Sarge85
12-22-2003, 12:36 PM
Generally I won't play much of the offsuit connectors - unless there are at least 5 limpers.

That's really the key for those marginally loose recommendations in LP.... There must be limpers, and you need to be on the button or CO..

Without those two conditions, go with your gut and muck the cards.

Warik
12-22-2003, 12:46 PM
Here's the T9o

Party Poker 0.50/1 (9 handed)
Hero has 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif, T/images/graemlins/club.gif and is CO

UTG limps, MP1 limps, MP2 limps, Hero limps, Button folds, SB limps, BB checks

Flop(6 SB): J/images/graemlins/club.gif, 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, K/images/graemlins/club.gif

SB checks, BB checks, UTG bets, MP1 folds, MP2 calls, Hero raises, SB calls, BB calls, UTG calls, MP2 calls
(raised to pump the pot if I hit my straight)

Turn(11 BB): 2/images/graemlins/club.gif

SB checks, BB checks, UTG checks, MP2 checks, Hero bets, SB calls, BB folds, UTG calls, MP2 folds
(bet to see if I'm raised by someone who hit his flush)

River(14 BB): Q/images/graemlins/spade.gif

SB checks, UTG checks, Hero bets, SB calls, UTG calls