PDA

View Full Version : Investing in Real Estate???

Redhotman
12-21-2003, 12:50 AM
I am 18 and live with my parents. I am on pace to make about 40K/yr after taxes. I am interested in investing in real estate. I hear that interest rates are at an all time low. My goal would be to buy a house hear in Florida, and then rent it out paying off the mortgage and watching the property soar. I figure you could get some good deals, fixer upers and that sort and really make some money as another hobby. If you keep reinvesting you can become a real estate mongal before you blink your eyes.
Any good books or sites out there to look at for information of this sort out there?

HDPM
12-21-2003, 02:22 AM
There are a lot of resources out there. I have been reading some as we are just beginning to invest in real estate. Since I am just a newbie too, I can't give you much advice. My idea is to start slow and buy rentals off of people who want out. I want positive cash flow from the first day. That is my entrance strategy. From there I intend to see how I like investing in it. We'll see. My only advice is to be liability concious. We will probably transfer the properties to an LLC and will carry plenty of liability insurance. Also find out who the best home inspector around your area is. We use a guy who is too picky and can scare you too much. But he has found safety issues or things that might require huge amounts to fix. He has killed a deal we had an offer on, but that's OK. He also costs some money, but that's OK too. I don't have the right experience to inspect a house, but can buy that experience pretty cheaply by hiring him. We should be closing our first little deal soon. The seller told me he wants to sell me some more of his stuff. He wants to sell his smaller rentals and consolidate some. Already people are telling us about possible deals. I think if you get in the game, it kind of builds. Anyway, I have no real experience in it, and have asked here before. Most of the res