PDA

View Full Version : Worst S & M Advice in Print

Al Mirpuri
12-17-2003, 07:03 AM
What is the worst S & M advice in print?

I have a later edition of GT&OT in which MM disowns a tournament concept he had propogated in an earlier edition so that does not count.

However, their must be stuff that people think is not quite on the money. I would nominate the way MM played the infamous 44 hand. There is something in his account of it that does not quite gel for my liking.

PS - I just want to state that I am a student of S & M and am currently awaiting delivery of Winning Concepts in Draw and Lowball and Poker Essays II.

whiskeytown
12-17-2003, 08:28 AM
well, not to beat a dead and rotting horse into the ground...like I have the last few months..

but I thought the chapter in TPFAP regarding "The System" has to be the worst thing I've seen in a while...

It encourages a tactic that might work, but most assurdly will NOT make you a better poker player in any of the skills of hand selection, reads, etc, etc...

though in fairness, I don't think S&M intended it to be taken as the gospel to the unwashed masses....merely illustrating a point...but it's become the most hyped and talked about concept in the book, and has even rated a couple of Cardplayer articles about how to deal with these "one trick ponies"

so their describing of the System and how to use it has got to have contributed to the biggest dumbing down of poker skills in the last year....IMHO - but better leave Mason out of that...I don't think he wrote it..

RB

ACPlayer
12-17-2003, 08:49 AM
It encourages a tactic that might work, but most assurdly will NOT make you a better poker player in any of the skills of hand selection, reads, etc, etc...

Careful now -- if the system will actually result in a positive EV for an average player in NL tournaments, then the System is good poker.