PDA

View Full Version : too chicken?, too aggressive?, two hands!

ProfLupin
12-16-2003, 05:34 PM
Ok, first a little history. I've been playing for almost 5 months...started .10/.20 moving up to 2/4 at PacificPoker and turned $90 into a little over a grand playing weak/tight patient poker and scoring occasional huge pots off the "Ace anything! woohoo!" fish. Needless to say I don't mind bad beats because they are a way of life over there. But I've been recently reading these forums, some books, and playing other sites and I know I'm in need of a game overhaul to keep up my winning ways at some higher limits. This is my first hand post, and I give you all permission to hold no punches!

2/4 TruePoker pretty normal game with a few weak players (poor starting standards) and two strong players, one immeadiately to my right. These hands came within 5 minutes.

Hand 1: Prof is in BB dealt 2 /images/graemlins/club.gif,2 /images/graemlins/spade.gif
SB is the strong player to my right.

two EP calls
CO calls
SB completes
ProfLupin checks
5 to the flop: [A /images/graemlins/club.gif,2 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif,6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif]
SB bets

Ok, I had been reading him pretty well prior to this hand and the first thing I thought was "semi bluffing the flush draw." I'd seen him raise from the blinds w/ AK and AQ.

ProfLupin calls (hoping for a raise from one of the other three in which case I reraise) first mistake?
fold, fold, fold. arrrgh. Just the two of us for the turn.
[K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif] [Ac,2d,6d]
SB bets
ProfLupin chickens out and goes into call mode
call
river: rag
SB bets
Prof Lupin calls

was calling the flop ok w/ 3 behind me to act? I was hoping to get someone w/ an Ace to raise so I could make it three. I know the turn call was totally horrible. If I raised and faced a re-raise am I then in check/call mode to the end?

Results (in white): <font color="white"> </font>