PDA

View Full Version : Short Stacked with 99 against 3 callers.

Philuva
12-15-2003, 11:09 AM
I have $850. Avg. stack is about $2,500. Blinds are 100/200 with 25 ante. There are about 350 of the 600 players left.

UTG who has $1,700 in chips calls.
UTG+2 who has $8,400 calls.
Button has $3,100 in chips calls.

I have $725 left after posting the SB and ante. I have 99. The BB has $2,800 in chips and has been playing tight.

There is now $1,150 in the pot. What is your play?

Henke
12-15-2003, 11:24 AM
I'm a noob at NL, but I'll post my idea and let others post the correct move. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

Anyway, I think you should move all-in. You have only about 1 round to go before you're out, and if you just call, there will be four to see the flop so 7.5 in 8.5 times you're dead (although if you flop a set, you'll probably be called given that your bet will only be half the pot). On the other hand, if you go all-in and get lucky, you might tripple your stack (or even more), and might get some shaky drawing hand (button?) out..

Just my guess though, please educate me /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Philuva
12-15-2003, 03:01 PM
I think 99 is a fairly easy hand to move all-in on in this situation. My only concern is that my raise would only be an additional $625 for the BB and 3 other limpers to call. Would this be enough to knock any of them out?

Would it be better to call and then push in with a favorable flop?

I decided to go all-in pre-flop. 2 called, the other 2 folded.

Flop came 567 turn was a 2 and river was a 9. The button took it down when he turned over 34s for the flopped straight. Obviously I lose the hand either way and I am not concerned about the ulitmate results as that was a great flop for this hand.

Is this an easy all-in preflop. Or is call and push on the flop a potential play?

JDO
12-15-2003, 03:40 PM