PDA

View Full Version : PLO, ignorant ends of the straight

joeg
12-10-2003, 10:29 AM
Hi, I'm just learning PLO, I play once a week and not very well. In this particular hand I was in late position with 2446 and am on tilt so I call, I knew when I threw the chips in that this was wrong. The flop came 35J rainbow this flop is about as good as I cood have hoped for, 16 outs make me a straight and 11 of these will be the temporary nuts and 2 of the non nut outs give me a set for a full house redraw.

So I bet the pot and had one EP caller then the turn came a six, to be honest I'd rather have missed, at least then I'd have outs. The EP player then bet the pot, I had enough left to call and raise about the same again.

I decided to move all in, mainly because I was on tilt but also because the EP player is good at detecting weakness and will bluff at it with nothing, secondly because I didnt have to worry about action later in the hand, my all in was relatively cheap in relation to the size of the pot.

I know I shouldnt have been in the pot to start with but my main issue is how do you play when you play a big draw and hit one of your weak outs and somebody bets into you. If the money is deep I think folding is better, but when its shallow Like it was here, was I wrong to move in. Second would a checkraise have been better on the flop, it could take the pot on its own, I'm happy to get a lot of chips in here as I'm not in a bad position against a set and some of my weaker outs could be good, and its no great shame if everyone checks round to me as I've got a good chance to improve and a small pot would be easier to get away from if a card like a 6 fell.

so any critism on how badly I played this hand is appreciated

dogsballs
12-10-2003, 11:14 AM
47xx is the only thing that beats you on the turn. He'd really need 467 to stay on the flop - or something freakish like JJ47.
4567?