PDA

View Full Version : Kill games advantage or disadvantage?

pretender2k
12-09-2003, 04:14 AM
I was playing a kill game on UB just to get on a table quickly because I only had an hour to play.

My question is what advantages or disadvantages should I be thinking about on this game. I understand the rules to it and I am a player that only sees about 28 or 29 percent flops generally. I don't see myself being faced with putting up the extra money very often at all as I would rarely be in a situation of winning to hands in a row but more likely benefitting by extra being in the pot when I do win.

Any thoughts.

easypete
12-09-2003, 12:30 PM
I host a game every week. We started to play kill pots.

I'm still a relative newbie, but I have some things I keep in mind.

1. Don't kill the pot if having to post a BB means that you have to put up 1/2 or 1/3 of the pot you just won. (If I just won the previous pot, and I'm on the SB with no callers ahead, I will either try to win it right there with a raise (to avoid a kill pot), or fold.)
2. Having just lost a big pot, and having to be in the BB is a psychological disadvantage. Use it against the BB (if it's not you), don't fall into traps if it is you.
3. The kill game is just like any other game. I don't change my strategy (unless others at the table are afraid of the kill game.... you can't see that online as easy).

Over all, I find that the kill games end up increasing my hourly rate by 1 or 2 BB. Kill games are usually short handed, and plays are easier to make against weaker players.

Hope this helps a little.

SevenStuda
12-09-2003, 01:42 PM
Kill games penalize piss poor players who are too often "in it to win it,"

pretender2k
12-09-2003, 03:19 PM
I think I do like these games as I have learned to use it against the blinds and I rarely have to post the extra bets.

Brian
12-10-2003, 08:09 AM
Hi Pretender,