PDA

View Full Version : Still trying to figure this tourney thing out

CrackerZack
12-07-2003, 11:56 PM
Ok, here's the situation. I'm in around 38th of 57 when this hand came up. Top 30 get paid but its change until you get to the final table. .7% for 21-30, .9% for 11-20.

Hero has T2700 which is less than avg obviously, blinds are 200-400 no ante.

UTG+2 limps in he has me covered, SB and BB both have slightly less (around T2200 and 2100). I'm rather new to this table but its been pretty tight. Only showdowns have been with someone all-in. I'm in the C/O with KcQc. What's my move? Button is chiplead at the table with T15000. Normally, I'd raise to T1200 here but the limper changes things. I've seen him limp a few times here and fold on the flop when he missed so he's very must more likely limping with a limping type hand than AA or KK. So what should my move be?

Well, I moved in hoping to take the 1K dead. Worst case scenario, button called, rest folded, he had AsKs. Flop of Kh 4s 2s and my night was over.

I considered raising to 1200 anyway but I was pretty sure the limper would call which may or may not be a good thing but if he's not holding a lesser K, I'd prefer he didn't. But if the button made a huge raise behind me, can i really lay this down getting 2-1 on the rest of my chips?

Thanks,
Zack

Greg (FossilMan)
12-08-2003, 11:17 AM
With or without limpers, your only move at this point is all-in or fold. A normal raise to T1200 is getting close to half your stack, so all-in is typically the better choice.

You ask about folding if you had raised to T1200 and the button had raised you all-in. You mention getting 2:1. Actually, it would be more than 3:1 on that call, and no, you should not fold for that price. Of course, another reason to go all-in rather than raise half your stack is to avoid such decisions.

Later, Greg Raymer (FossilMan)

crockpot
12-08-2003, 11:27 AM