PDA

View Full Version : Need help from the mathemeticians

03-02-2002, 12:19 AM
I have some questions for anyone who wishes to respond. I have a hard time understanding standard deviation. Can someone please explain it for me in laymans terms. I think it means my fluctuation from one hour to the next. However I am not certain. I read Gambling Theory and Other topics, and I still have a hard time understanding standard deviation. Does it mean short term luck?

I just started playing $10-$20 and I have 12.50 total hours,my win rate is 36.24 an hour, my confidence is 14.11% and my std deviation is $99.39 an hour. I gathered this information with the use of Stat King.

The advisor points out that I have a low standard deviation. I just started playing at this limit, so I play much tighter than usual. I have played premium hands only and one night the deck seemed to hit me in the face. What kind of swings will I see? The advisor says fluctuations of up to 298. Does this mean I could lose or win 298 in an hour?

Thank you in advance for answering

Best Wishes

MK ---}}}

03-02-2002, 05:53 AM
Standard deviation is a statistical measure of dispersion or fluctuation around the mean. To use the standard "bell-shaped curve" distribution, a standard deviation is an interval such that 68% of all results are expected to fall either one standard deviation to the right or to the left of the mean. Two standard deviations to the left or right of the mean would encompass 95% of all the expected results. Three standard deviations would encompass 99% of all the observed results.