PDA

View Full Version : A9s 10-20 hand

Brian
12-05-2003, 07:48 AM
Hi everyone,

This is my first hand post here in the Mid-High Stakes forum. I've been playing 3-6 and 5-10 regularly for the past 2 months or so, and decided to take a shot at 10-20. This is my first time to ever play higher than 5-10, and I set a 500 dollar stop-loss for myself. On to the hand.

I am dealt A /images/graemlins/club.gif 9 /images/graemlins/club.gif UTG. The past few pots have been taken down uncontested before the Flop, and while there are certainly a few loosie goosies at the table who like to cold-call, since I hadn't played a hand in a few orbits (and had only played 2 since I sat down), I figured it was a fine time to raise. My default play is to raise ATs UTG, so I figured this wasn't too far off. I have a feeling most probably won't like this play.

So I raise. MP, a rather loose player who is nearing the end of his buy-in, cold-calls. Button, on whom I have no read, also cold-calls. SB, virtually a maniac, calls, and the BB, a decent player, calls. Hrm, maybe I should have limped. 5 to the Flop for 10sb.

Flop: J /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 9 /images/graemlins/spade.gif 3 /images/graemlins/club.gif

Both of the blinds check to me and I bet. My hand is certainly worth a call if I check, and theres a decent chance I am ahead. MP and Button call, SB raises, and the rest of us call. 5 to the Turn for 20sb (10bb).

Turn: K /images/graemlins/club.gif

SB bets, BB calls, I call. I think some might advocate a value raise here, but I didn't want to knock the others out, and I certainly didn't want the maniac 3 betting (unless of course, everyone else cold-called my raise). MP now raises, Button folds, SB calls, BB folds, and I call. 3 to the River for 17bb.

River: 5 /images/graemlins/club.gif

SB checks, I check, MP bets with 1 BB remaining, SB folds, I raise, MP calls all-in. Results later.

-Brian

Ulysses
12-05-2003, 08:24 AM
[ QUOTE ]