PDA

View Full Version : PLO8: reasoning behind late position micro-raises?

Fraubump
11-30-2003, 02:16 PM
In the game I generally play in--partypoker 25--it is very common for someone in late position or blinds to make the minimum raise preflop when there are a lot of limpers. Are there good reasons to do this? If you are short-stacked with A23 I could see doing it to make quartering less of a disaster. And if you have a good hand it would give you more leverage post-flop to drive out chasers. But it seems fairly dangerous--you are opening yourself up to a large reraise. I'm fairly new to PLO8 and am just wondering about this play.

Thanks, Frau

Tailgunner
11-30-2003, 05:34 PM
Post-flop style is important to get a read on these people, but offhand I can think of several possible reasons:

1. They have a strong hand and good position has given them a read on the table. A small raise is less likely to scare off weaker hands (you want them to stick around to pay you off) while still getting rid of the really bad hands hoping for a miracle, and is easier to get away from if you catch a bad flop.

2. They have a weak hand and want to scare off other hands to improve their chances, but are either A) afraid of a losing a larger bet with poor odds on the flop, or B) afraid of a strong hand coming over the top. Wishy-washy players like this aren't as common, as they usually have a short lifespans.

3. They're loose-aggressive. They want to get more money in the pot on every hand, often reasoning (inaccurately) that since anything can happen that every hand is equal pre-flop, trusting in luck and/or a heavy-hitting betting style to make it profitable. No shortage of these people on PP, short-term gains and a few large pots keep the lucky ones coming back for more.