PDA

View Full Version : Hold 'Em Poker or Winning Low Limit Hold 'Em?

lunchmeat
11-29-2003, 01:55 AM
My father has asked me to get him a hold 'em book for Christmas and I'm not sure which book I should get him. He wants some clearly written, basic instruction that will let him hold his own in low-limit games without requiring too much study. What do you guys recommend? The only hold 'em book I've read is HEPFAP, and I know that's not what he's looking for. I'm thinking either Sklansky's "Hold 'Em Poker," or Lee Jones's "Winning Low-Limit Hold 'Em" is the way to go.

pudley4
12-01-2003, 01:27 PM
IMHO, the Jones book is easier for a new player to read/comprehend.

AliasMrJones
12-01-2003, 03:19 PM
I found Jones' book much easier to comprehend and put into immediate use. His post-flop strategy is much more detailed and definitely easier for the beginner. I recently re-read HEP and by golly there is a lot of useful info in that small volume, but for an absolute beginner, I'd suggest Jones first.

Justaloser
12-01-2003, 06:05 PM
Winning Low Limit Holdem is a great book. It has sections on preflop and all situations on the flop. It has helped me recoup easily over 20x the cost of the book in the two months I have owned it.

And as a point of reference, I have now moved on to HEFAP.

JTrout
12-01-2003, 07:43 PM
I agree with this; however, it's important that a new player understand that this book is not the gospel. It has some disputable advise. I think it should be viewed as an intro to lo-limit hold'em.

AliasMrJones
12-01-2003, 10:12 PM
I absolutely agree with this. Since moving on from WLLHE, I have modified my play with advice from HEP and HEPFAP. But, it was the WLLE foundation that allowed me to understand HEPFAP, which would have been incomprehensible without first understanding WLLE. While I don't now agree with all the advice in WLLHE, I still believe it is the best way for a beginner to get introduced to winning low limit hold 'em concepts and strategy.

dcg