PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to NL Tourney's -- is this normal

magithighs
11-27-2003, 01:12 AM
I've played mostly limit for the past few years and have a pretty good appreciation for streaks -- good and bad.

Tonight I played in a Pokerstars NL Satelite tourney to get into the WPT tourney on Saturday.

I've played for the past few weeks and have gone down in flames mostly because of dumb stuff, which I understand.

However, tonight I play much more tightly. Play over 70 hands. Not one was a winner. Not one opportunity to bluff, because there will be callers. I finally get top pair on the flop from the BB and go all-in with my short stack T500 at the time. I get out drawn by an AK in the bushes. That's not strange. But not having a legitimate winning hand -- not one in over 70 hands.

Is this normal. Or is it just the random number generator of Pokerstars?

Love to hear your thoughts. I cannot crack these NL tourneys and it's driving me nuts.

Cheers
Magithighs

Grivan
11-27-2003, 03:02 AM
Having a streak this small is normal...technically if you play long enough you will hit a streak of 1000 losing hands in a row, or even 10000 losing hands in a row. A streak of 70 losing hands is pretty common.

M.B.E.
11-27-2003, 03:27 AM
[ QUOTE ]
However, tonight I play much more tightly. Play over 70 hands. Not one was a winner. Not one opportunity to bluff, because there will be callers. I finally get top pair on the flop from the BB and go all-in with my short stack T500 at the time. I get out drawn by an AK in the bushes. That's not strange. But not having a legitimate winning hand -- not one in over 70 hands.

[/ QUOTE ]
It happens sometimes. Don't even entertain the thought that the Pokerstars random number generator is out to get you. You probably made a bunch of playing errors, but also just didn't catch good cards when you needed them. Nothing remarkable.

eastbay
11-27-2003, 04:48 AM
[ QUOTE ]