PDA

View Full Version : JJ sb 20-40 capped pot

mike l.
11-26-2003, 04:44 PM
i have JJ in the sb. bad player raises, awful player 3 bets almost all in, okay player who normally plays 80-160 caps it on the button. i call for time thus stupidly revealing my weakness and call. bb folds. others call. 4 of us, 1 player is all in.

i bet the flop in the dark. the flop comes T94. the usual confusion ensues where bad player doesnt know where the action is, doesnt know what those 4 chips sitting in front of me are for, he tries to check, but is then told there's a bet, bad player asks "when did i bet? the flop hadnt even come yet" and dealer tries to explain. in the meanwhile im staring at the preflop capper who is looking at the flop. the capper looks at me and says "why are you looking at me, it's on him". i tell him "im studying your face". he seems slightly irritated. the bad player folds and capper raises. i call.

i bet the turn in the dark. it's a 7. the capper calls.

i bet the river in the dark. it's some rag. capper calls.

comments?

ZeeJustin
11-26-2003, 04:56 PM
The capper could make the preflop cap with hands that aren't typical capping hands. AA KK QQ JJ TT 99 AK AQ all come to mind right away. I suppose 88 KQ and AJ are off possibilities, but not likely.

He could raise with any of the likely hands on the flop. If he had AK or AQ, it's probably a free card raise, and I would expect him to fold the turn. Maybe your bet in the dark is throwing him off.

I'd put the capper on QQ.

Why are you betting in the dark here? I don't play live nearly as often as I play online, so maybe I just don't understand the use of this play. Personally, I would have check raised, or likely check-reraised the flop.

Also, I don't think a fold preflop is out of the question, although a call is better.

andyfox
11-26-2003, 05:22 PM