PDA

View Full Version : Omaha 8 hands from the small blind

lunchmeat
11-18-2003, 10:10 PM
I'm very new to O8B, and I wanted to know what people think are good hands to play for half a bet from the small blind. My guess is that you can loosen up quite a bit here (particularly with high hands), since the flop defines a lot of Omaha hands. I would appreciate some help, and maybe an example or two, of hands that are good to call with from the small blind that you probably wouldn't otherwise play. Thanks in advance.

Buzz
11-19-2003, 08:28 AM
“I'm very new to O8B, and I wanted to know what people think are good hands to play for half a bet from the small blind. My guess is that you can loosen up quite a bit here (particularly with high hands), since the flop defines a lot of Omaha hands. I would appreciate some help, and maybe an example or two, of hands that are good to call with from the small blind that you probably wouldn't otherwise play.”

Lunchmeat - It’s not easy to answer your question, since the hands I play for half a bet from the small blind depend on a number of factors and are thus somewhat variable. I’d generally fold a hand like Ah6hTsTc, but if I felt reasonably certain that the big blind would not raise, I might play such a hand for a half bet from the small blind. 245X non-suited is another hand I wouldn’t ordinarily play (despite the fact that it has three wheel cards), but I might play 245Xn for a half bet from the small blind. AA99-non-suited and A379-non-suited, are a couple of other hands I might not play for a full bet, but would probably play for a half bet. Note that except for 245Xn, these starting hands all have a very reasonable capability of ending up as the nuts. (245Xn is a second nut low type hand - needing an ace or a trey to be the second nuts and needing both an ace and a trey (plus another low card, of course) to be the nuts for low - could make a straight for high, but it's generally very vulnerable (to a higher straight).