PDA

View Full Version : Preparing to play online micro-limits for a living (long)...

ThrillFactor
11-18-2003, 09:01 PM
I've been debating as to whether I should begin this series of posts for quite some time. First let me say that YES, I'm a davidross junkie/wannabe and, of course, this series of posts would not be my original, earth-shattering concept. However, I do believe that the micro-limit aspect of my game would require some slightly different approaches and generate some slightly different discussion than David's 3/6 and 5/10 exploits. I also believe that the knowledge swapped within could greatly benefit many new players and/or those who have been thinking about doing exactly what it is I'm fixing to attempt. I KNOW that this "diary" would help me to clarify and organize my thoughts and approach to the game, so if for no other reason than that - here goes. Let me tell you a little about myself:

My name is Will and I've been playing poker for about 4 years. I discovered Hold'em online about 3 years ago and was a losing player for the first two, though I couldn't understand why. I would destroy my home games which were a mix of stud, draw, and criss-cross, usually with tons of wildcards. Now hold'em is straight poker, of course, but still... I truly believed I was fundamentally sound and "knew" the game. At any rate, at my weekly home game I'd win anywhere from $200-300, and then proceed to dump it back into the black-hole called Paradise. Then about a year ago, I discovered 2+2 and realized that I knew nothing at all about poker theory. Within 6 months of lurking and absorbing information I became a break-even player. Now, I believe, I can say without a doubt that I am a winning .50/1.00 player, perhaps even one of the better ones you'll stumble across.