PDA

View Full Version : Strategy changes for online poker

harboral
11-17-2003, 09:47 PM
I am new to online poker and am having a tough time taking down the money. In live games I am fairly aggressive and look for good oportunities to play draws. My usually fold my top pairs when a higher door card pairs or I am raised or reraised. This has always worked well - but online I don't seem to be able to get anybody out ($1 - 3 limits) and am constantly getting beat by trip small cards and straights and flushes. ANY advise for online play, low limit?

crockpot
11-18-2003, 01:56 AM
where are you playing? at some sites, the ante is so high that you will get eaten alive while waiting for a hand. of course, some sites are also looser than others.

at low limits, lots of people won't go out unless you really hammer the pot, so your best play is just to not play your unimproved big cards that hard, and win a lot when you do improve to a big hand.

harboral
11-18-2003, 12:54 PM
I have been trying to play the $3 and $6 game at PokerStars and am getting run-over. (25 cent ante) Do I need to tighten-up and play just high pairs and no straight or flush draws since it is usually down to 2 or 3 players. It seems that whenever I raise with a high pair I still get beat by garbage trips.

crockpot
11-19-2003, 12:33 PM
don't let your bad luck affect your judgment. this ante is pretty small for 3/6, so you shouldn't loosen up for that, either. also, you shouldn't go out of your way to steal the antes that much, which you might have to do in party's 3/6 with a 50 cent ante.

in a game where about 30% are seeing fourth street, you do need to tighten up. if it doesn't appear that you have the biggest pair, you should only play a pair with an overcard kicker to your opponent's hand (preferably if the overcard is in the hole), a three-flush or three-straight with at least one overcard. read 7-stud for advanced players for more info.