PDA

View Full Version : First in with AK one off button???

dowlinga
11-15-2003, 02:35 PM
Multi-table NL Holdem tourney at UltimateBet. Down to the final 30 out of 97, top 10 pay (though 6-10 are very small). Anyway, I have AKo, one off the button, full table, and all have folded up to me. Blinds are currently 100-200. My stack is 1500. Button has about 2700, SB has 7500 and BB is smallest stack, about 700. What's the play to make here? I raised to 450 and everyone folded. Should I have just limped? Or just be happy that I took the blinds and raise again next time. Im fairly new to NL play, Ive been doing well in recent NL tournies (last four made top 20) but feel like Im missing out on opportunities with certain hands like AK or AQ, which are keeping me out of the money. Is it best to limp in that situation or is it almost always a raise to make. Thanks!

Hotrod0823
11-15-2003, 03:08 PM
I am new to NL Hold'em as well but I think you have to raise in that situation with 3 more behind the CO, the Button and the blinds you may still get a caller. I think maybe a smaller raise would bring in the SB but don't think a 450 raise is out of line. You bet 450 and picked up 300 without seeing what may have been an awful flop.

Would limping in for 200 seeing a scary flop and then folding to any sizeable bet from the BB be better? I don't think so. IF you only limped you run the risk of the Blinds hitting something with complete trash and crushing your AKo.

Hotrod

Cornbread Maxwell
11-15-2003, 03:17 PM