PDA

View Full Version : Mistake?

Rico Suave
11-14-2003, 12:45 PM
Typical party poker 1/2 table, not overly loose or tight, nor overly passive or aggressive. I do not have any great reads on my opponent, but he did not strike me as a lunatic.

Party Poker 1/2 (7 handed)
Rico has Q /images/graemlins/spade.gif, K /images/graemlins/heart.gif and is MP1

Rico raises, Button folds, SB calls, BB 3-bets, Rico calls, SB calls

Flop(9 SB): 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif, T /images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

SB checks, BB bets, Rico calls, SB folds

Turn(5 1/2 BB): J /images/graemlins/club.gif

BB bets, Rico calls

River(7 1/2 BB): 9 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

BB bets, Rico raises, BB calls

I think I made a mistake here....does anyone concur?

ScottTheFish
11-14-2003, 01:01 PM
I'm just learning, but I'd say maybe raise the turn with the open end draw (maybe not after he 3 bet pf?), and just call the river when the 3rd diamond hits? (not trying to give anyone advice, just want to see if my thought process is at all decent)

lil'
11-14-2003, 01:05 PM
Fold the flop. You don't have as many outs as you think you do most of the time. If he has a big pair, you're done. If he has A-Q or A-K, you're drawing very thin.

You gave him the ol' runner runner suckout.

Robk
11-14-2003, 01:11 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm just learning

[/ QUOTE ]

Never feel bad about posting your opinions! It's the quickest way to get better.

[ QUOTE ]
but I'd say maybe raise the turn with the open end draw

[/ QUOTE ]

I don't think this is a good play for the reason you mentioned, and one other. In shorthanded games, players expect you to play more aggressive. This can lessen the effectiveness of strong plays for the pot, since your opponents are prepared to call down with weak hands. Many players, in particular at the 1-2 level, will almost never fold a pair in this type of situation. And many will be prepared to call on the river with unimproved ace high.

[ QUOTE ]