PDA

View Full Version : Flopped set for review (TT)

Alobar
11-13-2003, 09:08 PM
I've been playing poker for all of 3 months now, and found this board a few days ago. I feel smarter already, thanx! /images/graemlins/smile.gif This is a 1/2 hand at party. Typical low limit game.

I'm dealt TT in EP. UTG calls, UTG +1 calls, I raise, LP call, both blinds call.

FLOP: 2, 7, T rainbow

BB bets out, UTG calls, UTG+1 folds, I call (my thought was to raise on the turn), LP raises, SB cold calls, BB folds, UTG calls, I re-raise (this is where my question comes in, but ill finish the hand review first), LP raises again, everyone calls

Turn comes a 5 (no flush possible)

Its checked to me, I bet out hoping LP raises, but nope, everyone just calls

River is a 9
I bet out, LP calls, all else fold. I win, a check of the hand history shows LP had JJ

I've had a few hands like these and I'm never sure when to go about raising. Should I have not re-raised the flop and put the check raise on the turn if a blank hit? or not re-raised and then bet out the turn hoping LP would raise again? I was thinking that my re-raise after everyone called the original raise was a good way to put some cash in the pot. I would love to know what you guys think, or would have done in this situation. Thanks!

Alobar

JTG51
11-13-2003, 09:39 PM
I'd often just raise the flop when BB bets, there's nothing wrong with waiting till the turn sometimes though. If I had decided to wait this time, LP raising would not have changed my plan. I would have planned to check raise him on the turn and trap the players between the two of you for multiple bets.