PDA

View Full Version : 5 card draw with the Joker

Theodore Donald Kiravatsos
11-12-2003, 01:28 AM
I will preface this by saying that I have VERY little experience with this game, but I do enjoy calling 5-draw Jacks or Better in our home game from time to time. So don't give me the business if I was supposed to raise pre-draw (but should I have????)

Dealt: A-Joker-7-6-4 on the button.

Player to my right opens. I call.
Two in EP who had previously passed now call. They
are not creative enough to sandbag before the draw, and definitely would have opened if they had openers.
EP players draw 1 each.
Opener draws 3.

I figure that my hand is currently good against
opener who most likely has JJ-KK. Since EP's both are likely drawing to better straights/flushes than
my 12-way (small) straight draw, I abandon it and draw 3 to the A-Joker. Pick up 884.

EP players check, indicating they missed. Again,
they are not creative enough to try a checkraise in this spot, so they have nothing. Had they bet, I'd have folded unhesitatingly without a big hand.

Opener checks, indicating (to me) he did not improve.

I bet my Aces up, EP players fold as expected, and
opener shows me his unimproved AA (because it's a home game).

Perhaps most will think that the drawing strategy was obvious in this case, but I personally find it rare when I feel like my plan of action in Draw is this obvious against a field like this. And a hand that could be played many different ways seems to have played itself.

Would it not be better to raise and isolate the opener? Then, if he draws 2, or 1 to two pair, I know I need to draw to the straight, and if he draws 3, then I draw to the Ace-Joker. I didn't think of this on the spot, but would be interested in any comments.

bygmesterf
11-12-2003, 02:22 AM
[ QUOTE ]