PDA

View Full Version : bet out or check-call this river?

SoBeDude
11-07-2003, 08:34 AM
I hate posting AA hands. I think AA usually plays on autopilot. Its an easy ram-n-jam preflop, and keep betting until someone tells you your beat. but...

Party 10-20. 2 bad players, rest average. I'm new to the table

Table has been tight by party standards, on average, about 3 in a pot. not a lot of PF raising. very few players are calling a PF raise.

Then I get AA in EMP. UTG folds, next 2 call, I'm next and raise. Then something amazing happens. all call except the CO and the button. So we suddenly have 7 players playing for 2 bets each PF, and much of the field has called 2 cold.

Flop is 7 7 4 rainbow

Checked to me, I bet. We lose only 2. I'm not happy as there is no real draw out there (except 56).

Turn is J, completing the rainbow. Still no decent draws.

Checked to me, I bet waiting for the raise by the player with a 7. Instead I just get 3 callers.

River is a King.

Given how many players saw the flop, is it better to check and call a bet or to bet out?

I didn't want to call a raise to get to the showdown. If I bet and got raised of course I'd call, as the pot is plenty large and there is a good chance I have the best hand. But with so many seeing the flop, there is a strong chance someone slowplayed trip 7's. I think this is actually a perfect board to slowplay and wait for the river to raise trips as there are few bad free cards with no straight or flush draws out.

(Of course there is some possiblility that I could induce a bet by someone who would not have called my bet.)

So I checked, player in LMP bet, EP player called, and I called. My hand was good.

comment appreciated

-Scott

rigoletto
11-07-2003, 08:59 AM
You only fear one hand on the river: KJ, so it's a clear value bet IMO!

Given the texture of the table I'd guess that you are up against pocket pairs and maybe AK/AQ.

SoBeDude
11-07-2003, 09:12 AM
why would I fear KJ? his two pair loses to mine.