PDA

View Full Version : Playing for "real money"

08-15-2002, 05:15 PM
I am a newbie with a few months of “play money” experience. I finally got a $100 “real money” account at PP and was thinking of playing the HE $.50/$1 tables.

Problem is I am kind of nervous about losing the money. It’s not that I can’t afford to, more like I have this psychological thing that goes something like: if I lose the $100 it means I play like crap and should find another avocation.

Then, I noticed that PP has $6 ($5 + $1) tournaments and thought that might be a better way to get my “real money” feet wet. Even though I have never played a tournament, I thought I might be able to play longer for $6 at a tournament than at a ring game.

Anyway, I would appreciate any thoughts on the best way to start playing for “real money”.

Susan

08-15-2002, 05:31 PM
Actually I think ring game is a better choice for your money. Try to play tight in the beginning, and I hope you have read at least 1 poker book before you try to get started playing. If not, then buy a book first, read it, then play.

As far as for books, Hold'em Poker for Advanced Players and Lee Jone's Winning Low Limit Holdem are good. Even though a book may cost you $25, but it's a good initial investment and you can make that back pretty quickly.

08-15-2002, 05:47 PM
Susan,

Problem is I am kind of nervous about losing the money. It’s not that I can’t afford to, more like I have this psychological thing that goes something like: if I lose the $100 it means I play like crap and should find another avocation.

You can't pursue a new endeavor with a negative attitude. Sometimes you can play your best and still lose. It happens. Judge your performance over time and hours played not on how long a hundred dollars lasts.