PDA

View Full Version : Party Poker Bad Beats

Slacker13
11-05-2003, 03:14 PM
I have been playing for only three months, live in Florida so the only way I can play is on a cruise ship which is hard because it leaves at a set time and my schedule is not so flexible at the moment, or I can play online, which I play pretty much everyday. In my three months I have entered B&M three big tournaments where I have placed 4th & 8th in two of them, so I feel my play is pretty good at the moment and I am constantly studying the game. I play at Party Poker which is going to end soon because I am starting to feel that by playing on Party Poker it is effecting my tournament play in a negative way. I have seen and have had more bad beats than I even want to remember. Played a multi table $30+3 tourny Monday, over 1000 people involved, my first 5 playable hands were QQ, AKs, AKo, KK, 10 10, all of which were either folded or beaten by some fool holding drawing to a 36o or similar. I am a fairly aggressive player, if I raise pre flop I come out betting after flop whether the cards hit me or not and it is virtualy impossible to get someone to fold in these games. Am I missing something here? Bad beats are a part of the game, but in reality do you really see this many bad beats in B&M rooms? It's obvious I need to find a different place to play online, any suggestions would help. Thanks for listening.

MuckMuck
11-05-2003, 03:30 PM
Well if you cant get anyone to fold, maybe you should adjust your game in the early stages where you will run into these calling station "SLOBS." Maybe you can be a little less aggressive after the flop or raise less preflop? Or maybe just get away from Party because their tournies arent for you? Pokerstars will start you with more chips(1,500), there's less "morons"(which isnt necessarily good), and you can probably play a more aggressive style and have more success there. Just some thoughts.

lata,
Mike A.

pokerlover
11-05-2003, 03:47 PM