PDA

View Full Version : Math behind flush odds

magithighs
11-04-2003, 08:19 PM
I'm trying to figure out the odds for the flush draw (2 flush cards on the board and two in hand) to remember the principles of the calculation.

It's been a long time since I studied probability, but I remember that when calculating an "and" situation you need to multiply the odds of the events, and when calculating an "or" situation on two mutually exclusive events you add the probabilities.

Are these mutually exclusive events -- the flush card on the turn "OR" the river. So do you calculate the odds on the turn, and then add the odds on the river?

I'd like to know the math behind this -- not necessarily the answer, so I can better calculate "true" odds of events happening.

Many thanks for your help.
Magithighs

BruceZ
11-04-2003, 09:25 PM
It's been a long time since I studied probability, but I remember that when calculating an "and" situation you need to multiply the odds of the events, and when calculating an "or" situation on two mutually exclusive events you add the probabilities.

Are these mutually exclusive events -- the flush card on the turn "OR" the river. So do you calculate the odds on the turn, and then add the odds on the river?

Good question. Getting a flush card on the turn is not mutually exclusive of getting it on the river because you can get it on both. If you simply add these probabilities, you will double count the times you make it on both.

These events are also not independent because whether or not you make it on the turn changes the probability that you make it on the river. You cannot multiply these probabilities either. However, there are both mutually exclusive events and independent events that you can use to solve this problem.

The event of getting a flush card on the turn is mutually exclusive of the event of getting a flush card on the river given that you did not get a flush card on the turn. These probabilities can be added.