PDA

View Full Version : Omaha vs. Hold 'em

morgant
11-04-2003, 05:18 PM
So i have been playing hold em with a passion for about 8 months, reading books, picking through this site, playing analyzing and trying to improve my game...could i be overanalyzing my play???? Along the way i have played omaha and O/8 to increase my poker depth and add games to my aresenal....I learned the basic rules and just played trial by fire without any studying of theory. When i am comparing my play in the two games i am talking about tournament play for the most part cause i figured that to be the cheapest most effective way to learn Omaha. Back to my point. What skills are more important in each game and how do they differ. I found myself playing Omaha 1/10 of the time as Hold'em but my tournament results were astoundingly better in Omaha. Is the game less popular and understood thereby enabling me to get to a significantly higher proportion of final tables? Or are there innate abilities that can make one a better player in Omaha vs. other Poker games....also since my results have been so much better in Omaha i should pursue that game with more energy but i still find myself playing hold em, a game where i have a broader depth of knowledge. So after a long winded post i am asking about game selection, traits that make one better in different games, and can one get too caught up in reading and analyzing to the point they are spinning in circles??? thanks for any replies
-morg

Copernicus
11-05-2003, 08:59 AM