PDA

View Full Version : Pocket 6's

Yeknom58
10-31-2003, 09:53 PM
party 5-10

Normal texture.

I have 66 UTG and limp, UTG+1 calls, EP raises, MP 3-bet, and Button caps, folded to me what do I do?

I'm fairly sure eveyone will call. Do I call or fold. I'm not sure what the correct move is and why? I don't really want to pay 15 to see a flop with 66 but on the other hand the pot will be huge and if I don't flop my set I can get away quickly. What if the button only 3-bet it and I only have to call 2?

Brian
10-31-2003, 11:44 PM
Hi Yeknom,

You know that I'm new to 5/10 but so far I have not been limping UTG with low pocket pairs. I don't know the exact texture of the game that you were playing in, but from the looks of it, it is very aggressive pre-Flop. I know you wouldn't have limped if most of the hands went like this, but I really haven't played in a 5/10 game yet where I have limped UTG. I've folded KJs UTG, A9s UTG, and 66 is just about borderline on the pocket pairs I would play. I might limp with 77 here, but generally when I am UTG in these types of games I want to be raising or folding.

Assuming everyone will call, you are getting 17:3 on your money, which is 5.5:1. You'll get paid off big time if you hit, so this means a call. However, if UTG+1 folds, and many players will call 1 bet but fold for 3, myself included, you are only getting 4.5:1, which is about the minimum you need to Flop a set.

If it were me, I would just fold it because I'd pull my hair out if I Flopped a set and lost /images/graemlins/smile.gif Odds-wise, if everyone comes along, then you are good. Does anyone know exactly what the EV is on this play if 1 player folds? I'd think it isn't very much in the positive, so I'd just fold and be done with it. If you're one who never passes on something that is +EV, then play it.

-Brian

me454555
10-31-2003, 11:52 PM