PDA

View Full Version : First Omaha Hand... the funniest ever!

Oblivious
10-30-2003, 03:31 AM
So Ive only ever played Omaha for playmoney, but I decided to try .5/1 on party for a bit. Im a pretty good holdem player. My style is rather rock-ish, but I enjoy loose agressive tables, and can usually make money there.

I post in the cutoff and get delt:
K /images/graemlins/diamond.gif K /images/graemlins/club.gif 5 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 8 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

Maniac in MP open raises. Two cold callers to me and I call for 1 more. This might be a mistake, but im a newbie /images/graemlins/crazy.gif. Button calls, SB calls, BB folds. Six players.

Flop is:
2 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif T /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 9 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif

So I have the 2nd nut flush. SB checks, Maniac bets, limper calls, limper folds to me... I raise (with so many players, building the pot oughtweighs my interest in keeping people in, not that I expect many to fold anyway). Button calls, SB folds, Maniac calls, limper calls. Four players.

Turn is:
A /images/graemlins/diamond.gif beautiful!

Maniac: "I check my flush"

Limper checks, I bet and all three players call me.

River is:
5 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

So the board didnt pair, and Im having a pretty good time right about now, so I get a little cocky and say...

Oblivious: "This is my first Omaha hand for real money!"
Maniac: "How do you like it?"

Check, check to me. I bet, button folds, and I say...

Oblivious: "Its pretty wild, do you only need one diamond?"
Maniac: "No, you need two."

Maniac raises! Limper folds, and I reraise.

Oblivious: "I know, lol"
Maniac: "You sneaky dog u!"
Oblivious: "I had to try that hustle."

Maniac calls and I take down my first Omaha pot ~20BB.

Who's impressed?

crockpot
10-30-2003, 04:01 AM
you played it well, and talked it well /images/graemlins/wink.gif. of course, you didn't know this guy was a maniac at the time.