PDA

View Full Version : Exercise: Reading Hands ...

10-01-2001, 06:57 AM
To tell you the truth I'm not very good at it. Here is one for you:

You are on the button w/ JcKh. There is 2 limpers to you (L4,L3 - 4 and 3 off the button) - you call - SB calls - BB checks. 5 player's to see the FLOP in an unraised pot:

[ Th 8h Jd ]

It's checked to L3 who bets - you raise - SB calls - BB folds - L4 calls - L3 re-raise - you call - SB calls - L4 calls. 4 player's to see the TURN:

[ Th 8h Jd ] [ 2h ]

It's checked to L3 who bets - you call - SB raise - L4 calls - L3 re-raise - you call - SB calls - L4 calls. 4 player's to see the RIVER:

[ Th 8h Jd 2h ] [ 3d ]

It's checked to L3 who bets ...

-------------------------------

Q1: Now what ? Fold or call ?

Q2: How do you like 'your' play so far ?

Q3: How do you read L3 and SB - assuming they are both 'somewhat good' player's ?

Q4: At what point would you make use of your read ?

Any comments appreciated !

10-01-2001, 11:11 AM
"Q1: Now what ? Fold or call ?"

Fold. On the turn I would think of my hand as a draw to the second nuts, and fold on the river after missing.

"Q2: How do you like 'your' play so far ?"

I don't like it at all because I would have raised before the flop which would make it much easier to figure out when I was beat, and if I should draw to the flush. For instance, if the small blind would muck x-x suited to a raise preflop, but would call A-x suited, or a big ace, then I could be more sure that he holds the ace of trump, maybe A-J with the ace of hearts would give him check-raise power on the turn. Either way, it'd be easier to fold on the turn with the likelihood of drawing dead being much higher.

If I raised preflop, and still get bet into on the flop by L3, and I raise on the flop, and he still plays back on the flop and bets the turn, this holds more meaning because I've showed strength twice, instead of just once.