PDA

View Full Version : UB supersat NL tourney - hand analysis please

Cigwin
10-28-2003, 11:30 PM
This is a $100 supersat on UB. 139 players with the top 10 winning the 2,000 buy-in to the one million dollar tourney.

Very early in the tournament, blinds are still 5/10. SB has T970, BB has T960, I have T890, MP has T980.

UTG limps, I limp with K /images/graemlins/club.gif Q /images/graemlins/club.gif, MP calls, Blinds call.

Flop is: Q /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 7 /images/graemlins/spade.gif K /images/graemlins/heart.gif

SB bets 50. Folds to me, I call, MP calls.

Turn 3 /images/graemlins/spade.gif

SB bets 200, I raise to 400, MP calls, SB goes all-in for 910, I go all-in with my balance of 830, MP calls.

I have little NL experience so I would appreciate any analysis on how I played the hand.

SoCalPat
10-28-2003, 11:46 PM
I don't normally slowplay 2 pair, so I would have raised the flop. The only hand I'm really afraid of here is 77. Anything else that beats you on the flop, I'd imagine would have been raised PF.

On the turn, he could be semibluffing his Kxs. Shoot, he might even have KQs. And since MP could be on a draw of his own (preferably holding Axs, plus I can't imagine he'd simply call a raise with a flopped set), they're drawing really thin to the flush. I call on the turn, and unless someone's holding KK, you still have a smidgen of hope against 77 (four outs) and QQ (two outs).

In addition to your PF limp (you have a great hand you'd love to see a flop with, but would likely have to dump if someone came over the the top of you if you raised), I think you played the hand fine.

Cigwin
10-29-2003, 12:30 AM
Pat,

Thanks for the input. One thing I noticed at the table is that most hands were going unraised or for the minimum raise. It wasn't until much later in the tourney that I started seeing raises that were 3x to 4x the BB. It appears that most wanted to see the flop.

SoCalPat
10-29-2003, 03:41 AM
[ QUOTE ]