PDA

View Full Version : KQ vs QJs question

Rook80
10-27-2003, 07:49 PM
At the WSOP Phil Hellmuth lost a hand to Sammy Farhad where Sammy open for 12,000 in and early postition and Phil raised for 35,000 - Sammy called. Sammy had QJs and Phil had KQ. On his web site Phil writes that "all champions and semi-champions know you don't call off your money with Q-J in a no limit Hold'em tourney", yet all references I can find list QJs as a stronger hand the KQ. I'm new to Texas Hold 'em so I was hoping someone could explain Phil statement - from a poker strategy persective.

Does it have to do with Sammy's postition on that hand? Any input would be appreciated.

davidross
10-27-2003, 08:49 PM
I have zero no-limit expertise so I can't really answer your question, but I will say I read Phil's book this summer and found a lot of his advice surprising (Like calling raises with Axs). In fact I thought KQo is one of the worst hands to call a legitimate raise with.

I think it's similar to the phenomenom is professional sports where superstar players make terrible coaches or managers. They can't explain how they do the things they do. Phil is such a gifted hand reader that he can make plays the average person can't because he senses where he is at all times.

I saw the hand you described on TV just the other night and Phil did go off his nut when the cards were turned over, but I think that's just Phil. But in his defence, I think heads up in a no-limit game QJs is a pretty mediocre hand. I would much rather have the KQ for the extra high card potential.

Moonsugar
10-27-2003, 09:55 PM
In a limit game where many people may see the flop being suited becomes a bigger advantage. (More people that see the flop and the longer they stay the more valuable being suited is.)

In no limit where it usually gets to heads up the rank of the cards are the most valuable thing.

daryn
10-28-2003, 12:49 AM
pokenum -h kc qd - qs js
Holdem Hi: 1712304 enumerated boards