PDA

View Full Version : are there any online legends?

zamora
10-27-2003, 11:14 AM
hi everybody,
after reading the posts about Stu Ungar in the n,v,g forum i have a question.

are there any online legends and/or icons? if so, who are they and could you please share some stories or gossip about them.

i am fairly new to the game (had never even heard of texas hold'em before january) and i havenīt got the background and solid knowledge about poker that i think a lot of you guys have. my guess is that many of you have been along all the way from when internetpoker started.

peace.

daniel

thomastem
10-27-2003, 11:28 AM
There are legends online. For example Husker is really Elvis, but I don't think that's what you are asking. Erik123 is probably one with the most name recognition and I believe has won the largest Purse for online tourneys.

GrannyMae is probably the most well known on this forum.

There are also pros that play online. Phil Helmuth and Annie Duke play on UB. I've seen tourneys on True with David Sklansky.

Now I suck at Poker but if someone messes with me I have a herd of animals to bring the hammer down. The pros ain't so good when my buzzard is constantly pecking at their head or my Bison in heat is eyeing them.

Inthacup
10-27-2003, 11:41 AM
A swede who uses the name Erik123 is becoming somewhat of an Internet legend, although he hasn't been around since Internet poker started or anything. He has been around for a few years though. He's only 20 yrs old, and is very highly respect by many for his NL play. He won over 100k in the Stars WCOOP this year. Pretty formidable stuff.

The problem is that most of the most profitable online players/legends work very hard to divert any attention they may attract. This is a smart thing to do at the high limits, but it doesn't do much for online poker lore.

Cup

Aceshigh7
10-27-2003, 12:20 PM