PDA

View Full Version : Strategy against cheat.

09-17-2001, 03:52 PM
I'm relatively new to this game. Yesterday, for the first time I visited local club to play some poker.

Wild loose game, everybody is raising and capping pot with hands like J6s or A4o.80% on the flop.

I remembered a phrase from Rounders movie " If you can't spot the sucker in the first half an hour- you are the sucker". But in this case I realized the either all of them are suckers or something else is going on.

Remembering advise from this great site I started to play very tight and managed to win 60BB in 5 hours,

playing only 6 or 7 hands.

I'm pretty sure couple of guys played on one hand, I saw things like card flashing, pot feeding trap ( sorry

don't know specific terminology) etc. But I'm afraid I missed some other things, so my question is what else should I pay attention to when I suspect cheating, how should I adjust my game. I know, some people will say don't play this type of game, but first of all in our local club most games like that and secondly I can face this situation in any other game.

Thanks, sorry for the long post.

09-18-2001, 01:42 AM
are you sure they were cheating? they were probably just alot of people having a good time gambling. most likely the club would not allow cheating because they would be out of business pretty quick when everybody caught on. if they were cheating, they did a very bad job at it. letting you talk out 60 big bets out of the game! lol. they can cheat in my games any time they let me take out 60 big bets. play until your not beating it. if your not, then reevaluate. in games like this just play very solid.

09-18-2001, 12:22 PM