View Full Version : Bush finally does something i agree with

Clarkmeister
10-22-2003, 02:50 AM
Partial birth abortion ban.

Kudos to you Mr. President.

That is all.

Il_Mostro
10-22-2003, 05:24 AM
Hmm, i suppose it's because english isn't my first language, but i really can't figure out what "Partial birth abortion ban" means, care to expand sligthly?

Moyer
10-22-2003, 06:03 AM
I'm not 100% sure, but isn't partial birth abortion basically when the baby is killed when it is like halfway out of the mother?

I've heard horror stories involving a pair of metal scissors to "abort" the baby.

Yes, it should've been banned a long long long time ago.

Clarkmeister
10-22-2003, 11:12 AM
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=512&e=3&u=/ap/20031022/ap_on_go_co/congress_abortion

J.R.
10-22-2003, 06:32 PM
I'm not a doctor, but aren't there instances where partial birth abortions are the only option for saving a mother's life, and this bill has no provision for permitting a partial birth abortion when a mother's life is in jeopardy? So does the bill place the fetus' life above the mother's life?

Homer
10-22-2003, 06:36 PM
So does the bill place the fetus' life above the mother's life?

In my opinion (and I'd like to think in the opinion of most mother's too) a fetus's life should be placed above that of the mother.

-- Homer

Utah
10-22-2003, 06:42 PM
I just cant understand how anyone can defend partial birth abortions.

I think one can make the abortion argument on development of the fetus. However, this is killing based on Location - i.e., if it were 8 inches to the left it would be a life, but not in its current location. That is pure insanity.

Ed Miller
10-22-2003, 06:58 PM
this bill has no provision for permitting a partial birth abortion when a mother's life is in jeopardy

I believe this is false. I am pretty sure the bill does have exceptions when the life of the mother is in danger.

J.R.
10-22-2003, 07:35 PM