PDA

View Full Version : Affect of the rake on my profits at .25-50 and .50-1

ParentFriend
10-20-2003, 07:11 PM
I just started playing poker online, and I was looking at the rakes for different limits. I play at Pacific Poker as they're the only online poker room that allows 18 year olds to play. The rake rates look like this:

Table Limit: 10¢-20¢ and 25¢-50¢:
$1 pot - $2 pot - $3 pot - $4 pot - $5 pot - MAX
---5¢-------5¢--------5¢---------5¢------5¢------25¢

Table Limit: 50¢-$1 and $1-$2
$5 pot - $10 pot - $15 pot - $20 pot - MAX
---25¢------25¢-------25¢-------25¢-------$1

Now I'm not sure if I've deciphered this correctly, but does this mean that for a $4 pot at .25-.50 the total rake would be 20 cents? Likewise at .50-1 the total rake for a $15 pot would be 75 cents?

In a ten player game, my fair share would be 1/10 pots. Because I play much tighter than my opponents and I'm not winning any extra pots by bluffing, is 1/15 a good estimate for how many pots I'll take down? In that case at 30 hands an hour I'm winning 2 pots an hour. Assuming these pots are at the maximum rake, that's a 25 cent rake and a $1 rake for either .25-.50 or .50-1. So the difference in rakes I'd pay is $1.50 an hour. Therefore I'd need to be winning 4BB an hour for it to be worth it to play at the .50-1 limit, assuming all other things in the games are equal? What's off with my reasoning here?

I think I might have a problem with assuming that the rakes will be maxed at the .50-1 table, but I'm not sure how much this matters. Any help? Thanks.

Nottom
10-20-2003, 07:44 PM
First off, even at a loose table the average pot is probably no more than 10BB so to expect the rake to be maxed is a big assumption, especially at the lower limits for each rake rate.

Its also important to think of the rake a a % of the pot when comparing different limits, not just a set amount.