PDA

View Full Version : Lay Down in P/L Hold 'Em how wrong was I?

pokerbreathdan
10-20-2003, 04:11 PM
i am new to pot and no limit hold 'em. i know the answer to this question in limit is check/call.

pot limit .25/.50 blinds

i have $32.00 in front of me ($25 max been there 1 round of blinds)

3rd position i get K /images/graemlins/heart.gifK /images/graemlins/diamond.gif.

i limp in b/c it is an extremly loose table and about 7 out of 10 flops are raised beforehand. i was hoping to re-raise.
i have a tight table image at this site and the loose players generaly fold instead of raising when i raise in early position.

this time every one limps in. 7 total players.
pot is $3.50

flop 9 /images/graemlins/heart.gif3 /images/graemlins/club.gif3 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

both blinds check to me. i bet $3.50

2 callers.

$14.00 pot less rake.

turn 7 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

I am first to act. I bet $5.00

Second person (fairly tight he check called a set of Jacks when i flopped a set of 7's in a previous game b/c i had raised pre-flop and AK made a straight at the turn)
Raises $15.00

3rd player folds

I think ok he has nuts or high flush, or 7's full or he could have flopped nines full hoping I was on a heart draw. He wouldn't be holding a three I think b/c he doesn't play like that. If he doesn't have nuts a heart will help if he has the Ace High Flush,7's full or 9's full the only card that can help me is the king.

I lay it down. He turns over Pocket Jacks.

Was this as bad of a laydown as I am thinking?

dan

Jon Matthews
10-20-2003, 04:29 PM
I think you assumed to many powerful hands were out there to get you, like 7's full for example. You can't fear full houses every time the board has paired and someone shows strength.

Another very likely hand would be 97, he'd be hoping that A9 is out there and beat his 2 pair with his 7's and 9's or force a laydown. You have this strangled with your K's and 3's.