PDA

View Full Version : I'm not playing limit. Repeat...I'm not playing limit...I'm not...

Rick Nebiolo
10-20-2003, 06:14 AM
This hand comes from tonight's 5-5 blind $200 minimum buy in pot limit holdem game.

I have about $350 and most of the table is deeper then me. Since I'm a rookie PL and NL player I'm willing to play the short stack at this point. I'd say my image is about what it is supposed to be, that being of a tightish limit player who is just dabbling at pot limit and doesn't have quite enough "cojones" (sp?) and perhaps brains. The game is very good, with quite a bit of live straddles, unwarrented action and only a couple of rocks.

I'm UTG holding Ad-Qd and open raise the max of $20. I get called by a tricky, aggressive action player (TAAP) two to my left who is well aware I come from the limit world. Another player calls from the middle as does the big blind. The pot is $85.

The flop comes 6d-4d-3d a.k.a. the nuts not counting straight flushes. The small blind checks and I put in a typical bet of $60 (most of my bets tend to be about 70 to 80% of the pot size) and pray I get called. I considered checking but felt in order to win some money I need to bet the flop. After all, even a rookie wimp like me is going to bet an overpair so I have a a good chance of getting some action at least on the flop.

First question: Should I check the flop after open raising UTG?

TAAP calls, the middle player folds, and the SB stares me down before folding (I think I need to use sunglasses). The pot is now $205, I have about $$270 left, and TAAP has me well covered.

The turn comes a Js.

Second question: What is my best course of action for the turn and river?

Results below.

Regards,

Rick

Rick Nebiolo
10-20-2003, 06:27 AM
I bet about $120 of my $270 stack into the $205 pot. TAAP thought about it a while and folded.

In retrospect, I believe checking was the far superior play given my image, my opponent, the size of the pot, and my stack size.