PDA

View Full Version : Winning % on Party Poker

southerndog
10-14-2003, 03:02 PM
I am relatively new to Party Poker, but for my past few sessions I have been winning 6-7% of hands. Is it possible to win money at this rate? Am I just catching lousy cards? I don't want to pour a bad beat story on, just want to know what % I should be at to expect to win money. I realize other factors come in, like how much you win with winning and how much you lose with your losers. Just like to know what % you have to be at in order to be winning.

Thanks,

Dog

J.R.
10-14-2003, 03:08 PM
At a full table I only play about 20% of my hands, and win about 30% of the hands I play, or 5-6%, and I am pleased with my results. These numbers of course vary given the texture of the game, but on average, you can be a winning player taking down pots in 5% or 6% of the hands you are dealt.

Festus22
10-14-2003, 03:15 PM
Here's a link to a similar thread you may find interesting.

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=370297&page=5&view=ex panded&sb=5&o=14&fpart=

southerndog
10-14-2003, 03:16 PM
How can you only play 20% of hands, when you could expect to play at least one or two for each rotation, just by virtue of being in the blinds? That seems really low. I guess I need to tighten up.

Mike Gallo
10-14-2003, 03:24 PM
Dog,

I typically play between 13-20% of my hands.
Some nights I drop as low as 13% percent, other nights I go as high as 23% however it usually levels off around 18%.

Post some hands.

J.R.
10-14-2003, 03:31 PM
I play in pretty aggressive games so I often face a raise from the big blind. I also play in structures where the sb is less than one-half the big blind (3-6 and 5-10), so I do not complete very often from the small blind.