PDA

View Full Version : Pot limit "Do you want that?" hand

Roy Hobbs
10-13-2003, 01:23 AM
I just started playing in an incredible pot limit home game with some people from work. .5 ante, no blinds, dealers choice. Mostly, people will call HE or Omaha, but occasionally there are some funky games. This hand arose from one of those games, called "Do you want that?"

This is a five card stud high low split game. One card is dealt face down, and then the top card of the deck is turned up. The player to the dealer's left is offered the card, or for $1, the next card in the deck, sight unseen. After everyone has a second card, there is a round of betting. Then the process is repeated, starting with the next player, etc. After all five cards are out, you have the option to pay $2 to pitch one card for the top card on the deck. If you pitch a face up card, it's dealt to you face up.

I have (T)823A.

The obvious high player, to my right, has (X)TTTQ. He makes a ludicrously small $10 bet in a $60 pot. There is noone that has a shot to catch up with him, and I think he wants to get one of the loose players to call him with two pair or a gutshot.

The competition for the low is equally weak. The best hand showing is (X)345J. I raise to $50. The other low hand mulls it over, and calls.

Q1: Am I raising the right amount here?

I decide not to pitch my ten, knowing that he has to pitch his jack.

Q2: I think this is obviously correct, but I thought I'd post this question anyways.

Obviously, he pitched his jack and beat my 8. My question, for future hands, is this...I should be happy that he called, right?

RH

crockpot
10-13-2003, 03:35 AM
is there a betting round after the twist? if so, i'm going to assume you will fold if he catches any non-board pair card 9 or lower here, which is pretty much the sane way to play even if he will always bluff if he pairs his holecard.