PDA

View Full Version : Raised on the turn (my first hand posting)

Lost Shaker Assault
10-04-2003, 10:38 PM
This is my first time posting a hand--please be gentle. I've had a few hands of this sort, it seems, and I'm never quite sure what to do.

Typical Party 2-4, early in so I don't have any good reads. I'm in the BB with K4o. One EP, one MP, and the SB call, and I check.

Flop is AKA. SB checks to me, and I bet out, thinking that the chances of someone having an A are less since there are two on the board. All fold but the MP.

Turn is a 4. I now have the elusive 3 pair, but it isn't likely to have helped him either. I bet out again, and the MP raises me. At this point, he either 1.) has the A, and has me beaten, 2.) has a K, in which case I'm probably out-kicked, but it wouldn't make a lot of sense for him to raise it now, or 3.) is bluffing. I figure #3 is likely enough that I call him.

River is a blank, I check, he bets. I call, and sure enough, he has A8o for the win.

So which streets did I misplay? Was it right to go in despite my lousy kicker? Should I have folded when he raised the turn?

LSA

Ed Miller
10-04-2003, 10:45 PM
Yes, you should fold to the turn raise. The only hand you can beat is a pure bluff, basically. In fact, I would often check-fold the turn, depending on who my opponent was.

gonores
10-04-2003, 11:01 PM
Welcome to the board, shaker. We're glad to have you.

I think you should have laid this down to the raise, because even though he might have been bluffing, he would have to be bluffing a decent amount of the time in order for your call to be correct. Once you are raised, you more than likely will have to pay 2 big bets into a pretty small pot to see whether or not he is bluffing.

Good luck and play well,

Doug

Mike Gallo
10-05-2003, 11:22 AM
Shaker,

When in doubt toss them out, except with a big pot.

I think you should have checked and made your decision from there. Calling the turn raise commits you to seeing the river.