PDA

View Full Version : This felt fishy.

ThingDo
10-03-2003, 05:30 AM
I'm new to the table, and i have no reads on any of the players.

I have AJo in the SB and there are 4 limpers to me: UTG MP CO and Button.

I complete ( I don't normally raise AJo from the blinds. Am I missing bets here? ).

BB checks and the flop comes JQ6r. I check however I considered betting out here. I certainly didn't feel that a check raise with second pair on this flop against unknowns was the right play. Check to LP who bets, button calls, I call for some reason, and everyone else folds.

Turn is an A completing the rainbow. I check to LP who bets button calls I raise and they both call.

River is a blank I bet and they both call. How can I justify this flop call against complete unkowns with second pair. I felt stupid and fishlike afterwards... maybe I'm wrong in thinking that way... part of the reason I wanted to call here was to get some kind of a read on my opponents but I don't know if this was the right spot to do it in and I don't know if that is enough reason to call down here with second pair with the pot being so small.

tj00
10-03-2003, 06:03 AM
I would not raise AJo from the SB with 4 limpers. I would bet the flop there is a chance you have the best hand, and if not you have outs. Since you checked I would checkraise instead of call it will narrow the field and give you a better read on CO and the button.

Dynasty
10-03-2003, 06:09 AM
I've never raised with AJo in the small blind after four limpers.

Check-calling with middle pair in this spot isn't as "fishy" as it may feel. On a QJ6 flop, there is only one overcard that you're worried about making somebody else a better one-pair hand. A bigger concern is gut-shot draws.

ThingDo
10-03-2003, 06:12 AM