PDA

View Full Version : pre-flop - 2/4 pot limit omaha

stripsqueez
10-01-2003, 10:15 PM
i'm new to this game (in a serious way) as i mentioned in a previous post and i am feeling my way through a variety of posistions

most of the time the school i play in seems loose pre-flop - often there are 5-6 limpers - i am not too sure what i should do when i get dealt KK or AA - my shorthanded hold'em background tells me that i am in front and therefore my natural instinct is to put as many chips as i am allowed or can find into the pot in part to narrow the field - this tactic has lost me $$ to date as there is always 1 or 2 players who will pay the extra money to see the flop and after that they either hit a draw or i am not willing to look at a big bet - it often felt like i had pulled the trigger too early - so i stopped throwing $$ into the pot everytime i got a big pair and started just calling pre-flop

i appreciate that just holding a "big" pair doesnt make a great pre-flop omaha hand and i appreciate that tactics with such hands will change depending on a variety of factors such as opposition and posistion - but - can someone walk me through a more experienced view of this posistion ??

crockpot
10-01-2003, 10:22 PM
i wouldn't be inclined to escalate the size of the pot with these hands (without good sidecards), unless the other players in the game are the type to give up easily when they do not flop anything. though you will often still be ahead after the flop, you will have a difficult hand to play if you do not hit the flop.

i think that without good sidecards you are often better off just limping and hoping to either get a cheap flop or to reraise someone else who raises (with the aces).

chaos
10-02-2003, 08:25 AM
You have four cards but are only mentioning what two of them are. Your stategy will depend on your entire hand not just half of it.