PDA

View Full Version : Questions about playing at Empire

AcesFullMike
09-30-2003, 02:23 AM
I'm relatively new to poker. I've been playing at Empire's play money $25 NL games. Obviously, you get some unrealistic play in them (the majority of players took the games fairly seriously though) and I've used the games as practice to get my discipline down, getting use to automatic folding, winning the proverbial 1 big bet an hour and generally winning on about 90% of the sessions I've played.

Now I've got a real money account and I'd like to know:

When is the best time to play NL $25? I like the lower blind structure in it vs the .50/1.00 tables.

What is the difference in the level of play comparing:

NL 25
PL 25
.50/1.00 games?

Thanks guys. This is a great forum.

kylemontero
09-30-2003, 02:40 AM
You should be able to make way more than 1 big bet per hour playing N/L. The p/l 25 your big hands are very vulnerable because it will only cost everybody no more than 2 bucks to see the flop. I would not ever try to play limit .50/1.00 or 1/2, everybody sees the flops and you cannot get them out. I think the .50/1.00 and 1/2 are harder to win at then the 30/60 or 15/30 games

1800GAMBLER
09-30-2003, 11:20 AM
Small stakes are the easiest to beat because they don't fold.

ElSapo
09-30-2003, 11:23 AM
I would not ever try to play limit .50/1.00 or 1/2, everybody sees the flops and you cannot get them out.

Why do you want them out?

jasonHoldEm
09-30-2003, 11:23 AM
Hi Mike,

I'm not a NL player, but I can tell you that Party/Empire is always fishier on the weekend. I doubt you will see little if any difference though at the micros...they are always fishy.

Good luck,
jHE

tdiddy
09-30-2003, 12:48 PM
kylemontero said:

[ QUOTE ]
I would not ever try to play limit .50/1.00 or 1/2, everybody sees the flops and you cannot get them out. I think the .50/1.00 and 1/2 are harder to win at then the 30/60 or 15/30 games

[/ QUOTE ]