PDA

View Full Version : A Poker Odyssey, Vol. 15 - JasonHoldEm is dead!

jasonHoldEm
09-28-2003, 12:54 AM
Hi all,

Ok, I’m not really dead…otherwise this would be a really weird post. On Friday jasonHoldEm was officially laid to rest at Party Poker. I’ve been considering the idea to change my user name for a couple months now. I don’t necessarily think that my opponents can gain that much of an edge from knowing me here at 2+2; however, I think there’s enough there to be concerned about. As I move into the “bigger” limits I’m going to be running into more and more 2+2’rs and I’d like to have as much of an edge as I can against them (lord knows I need it). Eventually you’re going to figure out who a good player is just by playing with them, but at least they won’t be able to put “the name with the face” so to speak.

Things are good. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Actually this week has been pretty crazy, but it’s also been a learning experience and I think it’s been another step forward for me.

Monday night was great. A combination of some good cards, bad opponents, and those skills I’ve been working on to build bigger pots when I’m ahead, lead to a very profitable evening. I finished $164 on the plus side (41 BB’s) in about an hour and a half of play.

Tuesday was (of course) the exact opposite. It started off bad when I flopped set under set and lost a bundle, and just continued to get worse…one of those evenings where if you’re drawing it never comes and if they’re drawing it always does. Tuesday night also led to one of my most comical moments in my poker career, after two hours of losing my money I finally decided things weren’t going to turn around and that I should call it quits for the evening. I finished my orbits and when I stood up from my three tables I had lost exactly $164. Leaving me exactly even for the week. I guess I can’t complain too much.