PDA

View Full Version : Supersystem

02-11-2002, 04:35 PM
I'm a beginner, should I get this book?

02-11-2002, 05:12 PM

02-11-2002, 05:28 PM
Theory of Poker, yes...

I started out a few years ago and saw Mike McD grab his copy of S/S in the beginning of Rounders, so I wanted to get my hands on a copy. Finally got one off of ebay and read, well, maybe half of it. It was just too much for me to take in without much experience. I'd say read Theory, Lee Jones, Feeny...lots of 2+2 stuff. Get some experience and then go on to the advanced series /images/smile.gif

02-11-2002, 07:05 PM
I like Super/System, and I think it's worth having, but the 2+2 books are cheaper and more useful, and therefore much more cost-effective. I have about fifteen 2+2 books, and I've gotten more out of most of them than I have out of S/S. I would recommend that you get Theory of Poker and read it a few times. If your game is going to be hold'em, I'd recommend Hold'em Poker by Sklansky first, followed by Hold'em for Advanced Players. If your game is going to be stud, get Seven Card Stud for Advanced Players. In both cases, make sure you get the 21st Century Edition. I haven't read West or Othmer, but some people recommend those. If you're going to play split games, and I'm not suggesting for a minute that you should, /images/smile.gif get Ray Zee's book. I'd also recommend Mason's Essays books and Feeney's book once you've digested TOP and the Advanced Players book of your choice.